The Houses of Parliament part of Cape Town’s heritage

As the Legislative Capital of South Africa, Cape Town houses the country’s Parliament, a mere 450 meters from Labotessa.

The Houses of Parliament consists of three buildings, the first built in 1884, followed by two other buildings completed in the 1920s and the 1980s. The original building was built in a Neoclassical style, with Dutch architectural features. The original building was extended  by renowned architect Sir Herbert Baker in 1920. All three the buildings have been declared a National  Heritage Site.

The permission to establish the first Cape Colony Parliament was granted by Queen Victoria in 1853, the Cape Colony being under British rule at the time. A statue of Queen Victoria in the Parliamentary grounds honours her rule.

Sadly two of the buildings were badly damaged by a fire in January early this year, and are awaiting repair.


Labotessa Luxury Boutique Hotel…….’like no other in Cape Town’.

Labotessa Luxury Boutique Hotel, 5 Church Square, Parliament Street, Cape Town. Tel (021) 010-6600